This website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. By continuing to use this site, you consent to the use of cookies on your device as described in our Cookie Policy.

Reviews

8.7 Review score
Score Breakdown
Cleanliness
8.2
Comfort
8.3
Property location
9.3
Facilities
8.5
Staff
8.9
Value
9.2
Reviews
    Hans
    nl
    9.2
    17 November 2017
    Like China should be
    Bathroom could have been a bit cleaner
    Beautiful hotel. Very romantically Chinese decorated. Owners speak English and they can organise trips for you. Mia Shan is a must. They can make you a breakfast with tea and sandwiches. Location perfect.
    Azizah
    gb
    4.6
    17 November 2017
    Would not recommend it for others because of staff
    The receprionest was a dishonest lady, who tried to charge me more for the room and she actually charged me more than the prices written on the breakfast menue And for the raxi to the airport as well
    Hotel design
    wai
    ca
    7.5
    4 November 2017
    A nice stay.
    The bathroom could be cleaner.
    The manager who speaks English.
    Maria Jansson
    se
    8.3
    16 October 2017
    English-speaking staff, very cozy, excellent location
    John
    nz
    8.8
    10 October 2017
    Attractive traditional inn
    Hot water jug but no tea, coffee, drinking water provided.
    Traditional setup very appealing, though room itself quite small and towels varied in quality. English speaking staff helpful with day tour arrangements. Comfortable kang style bed.
    de
    10
    2 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Carmen
    se
    9.2
    19 September 2017
    Very small bathroom, everything went wet when taking a shower.
    Great location, right in the middle of the old town. The couple who has the hotel speaks good English. Traditional Chinese room with a kang in a lovely old house. We booked a tour to see a few temples situated outside the old town and all was nicely taken care of.
    Katharine
    gb
    9.6
    25 August 2017
    A lovely place to stay.
    The shower was a bit drippy.
    Doesn't fit into any of the style categories above. Traditional style bedrooms (with table on the bed) around an old, ornate courtyard. Made very good use of a traditional building; the front hall is a welcoming open space. Friendly, helpful owner with good English. One of our favourites.
    Joseph
    us
    9.2
    3 July 2017
    A charming step into the past
    The door lock was loose, no soap was provided/
    Old fashion courtyards felt like stepping into the past
    Daniel
    ca
    9.2
    22 June 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ca
    9.6
    16 June 2017
    Beautiful courtyard
    The air conditioning was not working properly Should be more clear on the website about the 2 sites of the hotel to avoid mix ups
    The courtyard The room Clean bathroom
    Heather
    ca
    8.8
    24 April 2017
    Essential Experience
    It was a bit hard to find; it's not where the Lonely Planet map says it will be and as you walk in to the old town from the train station the sign is not visible (look down every alley and you'll find it) but when we were huddled in the rain by their bar location someone came and picked us up. Laundry requires at least 24 hours and is pretty expensive. People smoke in the check in/ eating area. I asked about a tour and was told that it is raining and I have a child (both of which I am actually aware).
    Loved this location! It was a very cool layout, just the right mix of old China and new amenities (toilet!, heater, amazing bed/bedding/pillow). It was inside the city wall so walking distance to anything within the old city; also not a bad walk from the (slow) train station. We would definitely stay again. The host spoke excellent English. She was very accommodating with our schedule. And she also was the only host from our whole time in China to ask us how our stay was and she seemed like she really cared. They also arranged a ride to the high speed train station
    Saar
    il
    9.6
    20 April 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Julie
    gb
    9.2
    26 March 2017
    A traditional guesthouse in the centre of the ancient city of Pingyao
    The atmosphere of this well located good value guesthouse is excellent - an enjoyable insight into days gone by in the ancient city of Pingyao
    J Wright & A Crawford
    gb
    10
    27 September 2016
    The best guesthouse in Pingyao
    This has nothing to do with the hostel but beware the taxi drivers at the high speed railway station will try and rip you off you shouldn't pay anymore than 40 yuan and the metres run at twice the speed so will charge you at least 80 yuan!
    This is brilliantly located in the walled city and has a huge sign on the alley so you can't miss it! The owners are lovely and speak excellent English and did everything they could to help us. They serve fantastic local food and it is worth eating here as we enjoyed this more than anywhere else. WIFI was excellent. The rooms are lovely and so are the beds!
    Meena
    gb
    7.5
    27 August 2016
    Beautiful old courtyard hotel- staff very helpful
    Food not great- but there are lots of other places to eat nearby
    Beautiful old courtyard hotel with rooms in traditional style
    ANTONIO
    it
    8.8
    25 August 2016
    Wonderful location
    Small room/bathroom
    Position and location inside old Pingyao courtyard
    Ian
    nz
    9.2
    31 May 2016
    Overall a good hotel not hostel
    They have two properties and because information is not correctly described there is at best a fifty percent chance you will end at the other side of town at the wrong one as we did
    Excellent hotel
    au
    8.8
    8 May 2016
    There are no comments available for this review.
    nl
    9.6
    24 April 2016
    Lovely hotel, good location and nice rooms
    Loved the location and room. At night the courtyard looks amazing. Even though close to everything, it's really quiet.
Close